NBA Dunk Contest contestants revealed

The field for the 2012 Sprite Slam Dunk contest has been announced today. Thunder forward Serge Ibaka will not be competing this year after he did last year.

Paul George, Derrick Williams, Iman Shumpert and Chase Budinger will be the four players competing this year.

None of these players are big names per say but they all have some hops of course. Williams has emerged in some highlights this year with the help of fellow rookie Ricky Rubio and has specialized in two-handed tomahawks.

Each contestant will receive help from a teammate during the contest, an element that has been present in a lot of the recent contests. It is speculated that Jeremy Lin will be the teammate aiding Shumpert of the Knicks.

Blake Griffin won the contest last year but will also not be competing this year. It seems the only thing that will ever continue to keep the Dunk Contest relevant is big named rookie competing in it and this year’s class just doesn’t have enough young, high flyers.

Tags: 2012 Dunk Contest Chase Budinger Derrick Williams Iman Shumpert Jeremy Lin Paul George Ricky Rubio Serge Ibaka

comments powered by Disqus