Gregg Popovich wins Coach of the Year award

Gregg Popovich has won the Coach of the Year award in the NBA this season.

The San Antonio Spurs finished tied for the best record in the NBA at 50-16, exceeding the expectations of many.

This is the second time that Popovich has won the award. He also won it in 2003 and the Spurs won the title that season.

There were a lot of good candidates for this award this season but Popovich’s ability to adjust to an aging personnel and continue winning while adapting his team’s style was the most impressive.

The Spurs have looked like the best team in basketball these past few months and looked like it in their Game 1 victory over the Utah Jazz on Sunday. San Antonio will play Game 2 against Utah tomorrow night at 7:00 p.m. EST on TNT.

Topics: Coach Of The Year, Gregg Popovich, San Antonio Spurs

Want more from Thunderous Intentions?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.